Clay County, Arkansas

Clay County Assessor

Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00 am to 4:30 pm (Closed on major holidays)


The duties of the Assessor is to appraise and assess all real property between the first Monday of January and July 1st, and all personal property between January 1st and May 31st (ACA 26-26-1408 and26-26-1101). All property in the state shall be assessed according to its value on the first day of January except merchants and manufacturers inventory that is assessed at its average value during the year immediately proceeding the first day of January (ACA 26-26-1201).
All personal property and business personal property must be assessed between January 1st and May 31st. After May 31st, there is a 10% late assessment fee and penalties as required. 

A homestead is a property that is used as your principle place of residence and you are the owner of record or are buying on a recorded contract. You may be eligile for up to a $350 credit on your real estate taxes. (As long as you are not claiming Homestead in any other County or State.)  To apply for a Homestead Credit, come by the Assessor's office and fill out a form. Once you have applied for the credit you do not have to reapply unless you have purchased a new home or moved. All homesteads must be applied for by October 15th of each year.


If you are 65 years of age or older or you are 100% disabled, then you may qualify for a freeze on your real estate taxes. This freeze is placed on your real estate value that is your homestead. This does not include land that is priced as agriculture, such as timber or pasture land, or rental property. If you qualify for this freeze, then come by the Assessor's office and fill out a form and provide us with proper documentation verifying age or date of disability.

Real Estate is automatically assessed each year, unless you are adding a mobile home. You will need to come to the Assessor's office and give us the specifics on that mobile home. If you feel that the value on your property is not correct, you may file an appeal with the Clay County Equalization Board. The deadline to file an appeal is the third Monday in August each year.


Additional Information

Arkansas Assessment Coordination Department

Association of Arkansas Counties